Ajax won  their record 36th Dutch Eredivisie title after comfortably beating SC Heerenveen 5-0 in the penultimate round in Amsterdam on Wednesday.

The club’s 36th league crown is the third in charge for outgoing coach Erik ten Hag, who will end his five-year stint at Ajax at the close of the season to become Manchester United manager.

After Nicolas Tagliafico opened the scoring for Ajax, Steven Berghuis added a second goal and Sebastien Haller converted a penalty to make it 3-0 in the first half that the audience in the Johan Cruijff Arena were already celebrating at half-time.

Five minutes from time, substitute Brian Brobbey netted the fourth goal before adding a fifth in the final minutes.

Also on Wednesday, PSV beat NEC 3-2 in Eindhoven and third-placed Feyenoord won 1-0 at Go Ahead Eagles thanks to a goal by Bryan Linssen.

Ajax sits top of the standings with 82 points from 33 matches and secured a direct ticket for next season’s Champions League, while PSV is second with 78 points and will have to play the Champions League preliminary round next season. Feyenoord is third with 71 points.

PEC Zwolle will be relegated from the Eredivisie after 10 years in the top flight following a 2-0 defeat at Sparta Rotterdam. The 34th and last round of the 2021-22 season is scheduled to take place on May 15.

- Advertisement -