The opportunity to drive on gravel for the first time since last March has attracted over 25 entries for this week’s KCB Kenya National Autocross Championship 4 slated for Jamhuri Park racetrack in Nairobi on Sunday.

The Kenya Motor Sports Club (KMSC) organized round will be the first circuit race since the lifting of the temporary Government ban on all sporting events due to the Ministry of Health Covid-19 pandemic containment measures.

The entry list for the Championship’s fourth race meeting is anticipated to bring together the usual suspects including 2WD Turbo leader Azaad Manji, the 4WD Turbo speedster Lovejyot Singh and leader of 2WD Non Turbo Buggy Class Zameer Verjee.

Sunday’s race will feature newcomers and top contenders – a perfect ingredient for an exhilarating ‘man and machine” battle.

Bambino Class Championship leader Yuvraj Rajput leads the field away in a “Magi Bug” .

The Decko Racing young driver holds a 3-point advantage over Karamveer Singh Rooprai.

Jairaj Jutley is lying a distant third with 17points.

Notable absentee in Class 10 (Junior 2wd Non-Turbo) is Neel Gohil who is skipping the KMSC round die to a prior family comitment. Neel, son of retired driver Sushil Gohil, leads the junior log with 54 points followed by Brandon Ng’ang’a (44) and Amaraj Malle (15).

Young Gohil has shown impressive pace since his debut at the Waterfront Karen earlier in the year and will be gunning to get his buggy on the podium for the umpteenth time when he returns for the round 5 of the Championship.

A handful of 2WD Turbo speed merchants are set to put on a good show in the event’s heat runs. They include Shaz Esmail aka Coach in an Attacker 1 Buggy as well as Zuber Manji, Prabjeet Sagoo, Gurraj Singh and Lovejoyt Singh.

Lovejyot has entered two classes; with his Subaru Impreza in 4WD Turbo and Attacker 1 in 2WDT.

“I am happy the season is restarting after the long Covid break. The final preparations are going on for both the buggy and rally car. We did a few tests over the weekend to clear the webs off,” said Lovejyot.

Newcomer Azfar Malik will be entering a 2WD NT Toyota Levin. Azfar is rally driver Hussein Malik’s brother.

Meanwhile, Team Decko powered by XADO has named it’s team for Sunday’s race.

Kiana Rajput in the peewee class, 170cc Polaris, Yuvraj Rajput behind the wheel of a Bambino class 500 Magibug, Kirit Rajput in an open class Subaru GC8 and Wayne Fernandes in a Raptor 700 will make the team.

Fernandes said: ‘It’s been a long hiatus since our last race in March in Eldoret. The team (Decko) has been itching to get back after a series of testing intended to the machines in best conditions possible. Jamuhuri has always been one of the teams favourite, so fingers crossed- a little bit of rain, there will be some matope (mud) to play in.”

Currently Kiana, Yuvraj and Kirit are leading their individual classes and are hoping to extend their leads at the end of this weekend’s race, and keep the championship hope’s alive and that much closer to securing the coveted titles.

The 10- leg National Autocross Championship is sponsored by KCB Bank Kenya.


Shaz Esmail 2WD NT Buggy
Zameer Varjee 2WD NT Buggy
Sam Karangatha 2WD NT Buggy
Ankush Shah 2WD NT Buggy
Qahir Rahim 2WD NT Buggy
Azad Manji 2WDT
Zuber Manji 2WDT
Prabjeet Sagoo 2WDT
Gurraj Singh 2WDT
Lovejoyt Singh 2WDT
Sahib Omar 4WDT
Rehan Shah 4WDT
Youvraj Rajput Bambino
Kirit Rajput Open
Rajveer Thethy 4WDT
Lovejoyt Singh 4WDT
Wayne Fernandes Quad
Kiana Rajput PEEWEE
Azfar Malik 2WD NT
Gurraj Singh Quad
Nisha Pandya TBA
Junaid Shah TBA
Brandon Ng’ang’a TBA
Abdul Razak TBA
Rahul Patel TBA
William Kiromo TBA
Eric Bengi 4WD T