Record Kenyan Premier League champions Gor Mahia rallied from behind to beat arch rivals AFC Leopards 6-5 in post-match penalties to win the Madaraka Day Exhibition Cup at the Nyayo National Stadium on Wednesday.

AFC Leopards were trying to break their 6-year winless jinx against the Andreas Spier’s charges and things looked to be going their way when Collins Shivachi headed in the Washington Munene’s corner kick in 36th minute.

Ingwe took control of the entire first stanza with several attempts to double their lead but Gor Mahia’s defense was equal to the task until it ended 1-0 in favour of Leopards to the first half whistle.

In the  second stanza, Gor Mahia came back guns blazing seeking to restore parity. Their relentless effort bore fruits in the 68th minute when Leopards’ old boy Austine Odhiambo capitalised on a lose ball to level matters for K’Ogalo, a blunder committed by AFC Leopards goalkeeper Levis Opiyo who was dispossessed in the box.

Both sides were cautiously trying  not concede deep into the second half as it ended 1-1 in regular time.

It was straight to the penalties with Gor Mahia converting all their six spot kicks while AFC Leopards’ Peter Thiong’o fired his shot over the bar to let the Green Army  win the tie to the excitement of their loyal supporters.

The former FKF Premier League winners took home a sum of Ksh 1m as prize money plus a trophy.

AFC Leopards penalty scorers: Tedian Esilaba, Washington Munene, Victor Omune, Josephat Lopaga, John Mark Makwatta

Gor Mahia penalty scorers: Philemon Otieno, Samuel Onyango, Dennis Ng’ang’a, John Macharia, Austine Odhiambo

Gor Mahia Starting XI

Gad Mathew, Paul Ochuoga, Philemon Otieno, Dennis Ng’ang’a, Geoffrey Ochieng, Ernest Wendo, Peter Lwasa, Austine Odhiambo, Sammy Onyango, George ‘Blackberry’ Odhiambo, Sammy Omalla.

AFC Leopards Starting XI

Levis Opiyo, Peter Thiong’o, Washington Munene, Tedian Esilaba, Collins Shivachi, Lewis Bandi, Brian Wanyama, Cliff Nyakeya, Ojo Olaniyi, Victor Omune, Eugene Mukangula.

- Advertisement -