Newly elected AFC Leopards Secretary General Gilbert Andugu has urged club leadership and supporters to work together towards retaining  Ingwee’s lost glory.

Leopards last won a Kenyan Premier League title in 1998, allowing arch rivals Gor Mahia and Tusker dominate Kenyan  football for two decades.

Andugu won the seat with 432 votes ahead of Robert Situma (224) and Tony Omusina (49) in an election held on June 26 during the side’s Annual General Meeting at Moi International Sports Centre Kasarani.

“My hearty appreciation to my campaign  team for the great team work, sleepless nights and never ending support you gave to ensure that we emerged victorious in the polls,” Andugu said on Tuesday.

“I believe that our great Club, AFC Leopards won on this day. Your vote was a vote for the future. A bright future. Your overwhelming support will come in handy as I take over this new responsibility.”

AFC Leopards finished 6th in the 2022/23 Football Kenya Federation Premier League season after starting the campaign poorly with reliable players ditching the former champions due to financial constraints that were hampering operations at the club.

Andugu believes AFC Leopards can retain their glorious status provided there is teamwork and cohesion at the den.

“Special thanks to my competitors Robert Situma and Tonny Omusina for the allowing democracy to carry the day. You have shown the true spirit of being an Ingwe fan as well as trusting in our Club structures.Let us join hands, work together and ensure that AFC Leopards regains its lost glory.

“I give thanks to the independent election organizers Centre for Multiparty Democracy (CMD) for conducting a fair and credible election allowing for the Club’s ethos to be felt across Kenya and the world at large.

“I also congratulate Dr. Dan Shikanda and Oliver Napali for being elected to the national executive council (NEC) as Chairperson and treasurer respectively. Our combined efforts is what will make us achieve the  success and trophy-laden term for the fans.

“To the fans and members; your support will be required as usual on and off the pitch. The task ahead will be determined by our unity. Let’s stand together and  restore our lost glory.”

Following the Sunday’s exercise held at Kasarani on Sunday June 26, 2022, the following officials were elected to the national executive council (NEC) to steer the Club for the next three years.

Chairman- Dr. Dan Shikanda

Secretary General- Gilbert Andugu

Treasurer- Oliver Napali Imbenzi.

- Advertisement -