Simba and Yanga are set to face each other for the second time this season in the Mapinduzi Cup final scheduled for Wednesday night at the Amaan Stadium.

Wekundu wa Msimbazi have been in good form in this competition and will be aiming to win this competition after falling by a solitary goal against Mtibwa Sugar last season.

The 21-time Tanzania Mainland League champions qualified for the finals after defeating Namungo FC 2-1. Meddie Kagere and Miraji Athumani scored the goals for Simba.

Kagere pounced on the loose ball in the danger zone, after Abdul Humud’s miscommunication with the goalkeeper, and tapped the ball into an empty net. Athumani capitalized on a rebound to seal the win.

Stephen Sey scored for Namungo but the damage had already been done.

Yanga qualified for their first ever Mapinduzi Cup final after a 5-4 penalty shootout win over Azam FC.

The match had ended 1-1 in regular time. Tuisila Kisinda had scored for Yanga before Obrey Chirwa levelled for the Ice-cream Makers.

Kisinda, Mukoko Tonombe, Paul Godfrey, Abdalla Shaibu and Zawadi Mauya scored for Wananchi while Michal Sarpong’s effort was stopped by Benedict Haule.

“Bruce Kangwa, Ally Niyonzima, Mudathir Yahya, and Nicholas Wadada scored for Azam while Awesu Awesu and Daniel Amoah failed to beat Farouk Shikhalo.

It will be the second time the two sworn rivals will be meeting this season. In the league assignment, the two giants settled for a 1-1 draw.