The reigning world women’s marathon record holder Brigid Kosgei is among the three Africans named on the 11-women’s list for the 2019 IAAF World Athlete of the Year Awards set to be held in Monaco on November 23.

Kosgei posted a new time at the Chicago Marathon last Sunday, to end 16-year record that was held by British Paula Radcliffe when she reset the click at 2:14:04.

Kosgei, the reigning London Marathon title holder, also boasts of a world-leading time of 1:05:28 for the half marathon and 1:04:28 on a downhill course.

But she will face stiff competition from, among others, fellow Kenyan Beatrice Chepkoech, who won the world championships in 3000m steeplechase in a championship record of 8:57.84.

Chepkoech also won the Diamond League title as well as seven of her eight steeplechase races.

World cross-country and 5000m world champion Hellen Obiri, who also ran a world-leading time of 14:20.36 for 5000m in London, is another African who made it the list that also has Jamaican sprinter Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce as well as Sifan Hassan of the Netherlands.

The nominations of 11 athletes reflects the remarkable range of exceptional performances that the sport has witnessed this year at the IAAF World Athletics Championships in Doha, and in the Diamond League and in road and cross country events.

The IAAF’s Competition Performance Ranking show that the World Championships in Doha was the highest quality competition in the history of the event.

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this week; a ‘like’ on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50 per cent of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25 per cent of the final result.

Voting for the Female World Athlete of the Year closes on 5 November. At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the World Athletics Awards 2019.

The nominees for 2019 Female World Athlete of the Year in alphabetical order:

Beatrice Chepkoech (KEN)
– won world 3000m steeplechase title in a championship record of 8:57.84
– won Diamond League title
– won seven of her eight steeplechase races

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM)
– won world 100m and 4x100m titles in world-leading times of 10.71 and 41.44
– won Pan-American 200m title
– won seven of her 10 races at 100m

Katarina Johnson-Thompson (GBR)
– won world heptathlon title in a world-leading 6981
– undefeated in all combined events competitions, indoors and outdoors
– won European indoor pentathlon title with a world-leading 4983

Sifan Hassan (NED)
– won world 1500m and 10,000m titles in world-leading times of 3:51.95 and 30:17.62
– won Diamond League 1500m and 5000m titles
– broke world mile record with 4:12.33 in Monaco

Brigid Kosgei (KEN)
– set a world record of 2:14:04 to win the Chicago Marathon
– won the London Marathon
– ran a world-leading 1:05:28 for the half marathon and 1:04:28 on a downhill course

Mariya Lasitskene (ANA)
– won world high jump title with 2.04m
– jumped a world-leading 2.06m in Ostrava
– won 21 of her 23 competitions, indoors and outdoors

Malaika Mihambo (GER)
– won world long jump title with a world-leading 7.30m
– won Diamond League title
– undefeated outdoors

Dalilah Muhammad (USA)
– broke world record with 52.20 at the US Championships
– improved her own world record to win the world 400m hurdles title in 52.16
– won world 4x400m title

Salwa Eid Naser (BRN)
– won world 400m title in 48.14, the third-fastest time in history
– won Diamond League title and three gold medals at the Asian Championships
– undefeated at 400m outdoors

Hellen Obiri (KEN)
– won world cross-country title in Aarhus
– won world 5000m title in a championship record of 14:26.72
– ran a world-leading 14:20.36 for 5000m in London

Yulimar Rojas (VEN)
– won world triple jump title with 15.37m
– jumped world-leading 15.41m to move to second on the world all-time list
– won nine of her 12 competitions, including the Pan-American Games