Yanga SC defeated their sworn rivals Simba SC 4-3 in a shootout to lift their maiden Mapinduzi Cup Wednesday.

Wekundu wa Msimbazi had come into the match as favourites owing to their fine run to the final but they were not going to get it easy against Wananchi who qualified for the last two for the first time in their history.

While the Msimbazi-based charges defeated Namungo FC 2-1 to seal their place in the final while Timu ya Wananchi qualified 5-4 in post match penalties over Azam after a 1-1 draw in regular time.

On Wednesday, it was almost the same only that neither of the two teams managed to get a goal in regular time prompting the match to be decided on penalties.

Francis Kahata, Chris Mugalu and Gadiel Michael scored for the 21-time Tanzania Mainland League champions while Meddie Kagere and Joash Onyango failed to find the back of the net.

On the other hand, Young Africans scored their spot-kicks courtesy of Tuisila Kisinda, Abdallah Haji Shaibu, Zawadi Mauya, and Saidi Ntibazonkiza while Mukoko Tonombe missed his.

The two teams will now embark on the league assignments where thy hope to challenge for the title.