Uganda will be represented at this year’s FIA African Rally Championship (ARC) by a two-car team composed of Jas Mangat and Yasin Nasser.

The duo will be embarking on their ARC title dream in the prestigious Equator Rally Kenya set for March 17-19 in Voi and its environs.

The National Council of Sport  together with Federation of Motorsport Clubs of Uganda (FMU) officially gave the team a deserving send off to Kenya.

While briefing the media in Kampala, NCS Assistant Secretary – Technical, David Katende Ssemakula, acknowledged the crews’ passion and input into the “man and machine” sport, and promised that the Government of Uganda will explore ways  and means of extending its support towards their course.

FMU president, Dipu Ruparelia, applauded his crews for their commitment towards the sport and promised them support in whatever way the Federation can.

FMU has offered free International Competition Licenses to their crews plus 200 litres of fuel to each of the two teams.

Meanwhile, preparations  for the Voi event are at an advanced stage..

A total of twenty cars are listed for the event which will revolve around the vast Taita Taveta County.

Former Kenya National Rally champion Baldev Chager will be among the star attractions in a Subaru N12.

Aakif Virani will make a comeback behind the wheel of a  Skoda Fabia Rally2.

 Coast drivers entered for the event are Izhar Mirza of Coast Pekee team and Kilifi based Piero Canobbio who has entered a Hyundai i20 Rally 2.

Jasmeet Chana who finished second at last year’s KNRC series will be back in Voi for the continental event.

Kenya’s 2022 Motorsport Personality of the Year, and reigning Kenya National Rally Drivers champion Karan Patel will pilot a Ford Fiesta Rally 2.

Foreign crews  listed for the event are Yasser Nasser/Ali Kattumba (Ford Fiesta), Jas Mangat/Joseph Kamya (Mitsubishi Lancer EvoX) from Uganda and Gurjit Dhanji/Manmeet Birdi (Subaru) from Tanzania.

The Equator Rally will count towards the second round of the 2023  FIA Africa Rally Championship (ARC) .

 This follows Ivory Coast’s Rallye Bandama which was won by home driver Gary Chaynes. Chaynes will be among the notable absentees in the Kenyan round of the continental series.

 Stages for the event will be centered on the expansive Taita Sisal Estate in Mwatate with a two-day total transport distance of 421.08 km and a Competitive mileage of approximately 205.25kms.

The event will feature two legs with a total  of 10 Competitive Stages.


1. Karan Patel/Tauseef Khan (Ford Fiesta),

2. Akhif Virani/Azar Bhakti (Skoda Fabia),

3. Baldev Chager/Gareth Dawe (Subaru Impreza N12)

4. Raaji Bharij/TBA (Ford Escort MK2)

5. Izhar Mirza/Kavit Dave (Mitsubishi Lancer EvoX)

6. Jasmeet Chana/Ravi Chana (Mitsubishi Evolution10),

7. Piero Cannobio/TBA (Hyundai 120)

8. Yassin Nasser/Joseph Kamya (Ford Fiesta)

9. Hamza Anwar/Adnan Din (Ford Fiesta)

10. McRea Kimathi/Shameer Yusuf (Ford Fiesta)

11. Nikhil Sachania/Deep Patel (Mitsubishi Lancer EvoX)

12. Nzoika Waita/Tuta Mionki (Mitsubishi Lancer EvoX)

13. Jeremaih Wahome/Victor Okundi (Ford Fiesta)

14. Rio Smith/Riyaz Ismail (Ford Fiesta),

15. Kush Patel/Mudasar Chaudry (Subaru Impreza)

16. Ian Duncan/Jaspal Matharu (TBA),

17. Gurjit Dhabi/Manmeet Birdi (Subaru)

18. Jas Mangat/Joseph Kamya (Mitsubishi Lancer EvoX)

19. Asad Anwar/TBA (TBA)

20. Anthony Nielsen/William Bass (Mitsubishi Lancer EvoX).

- Advertisement -